P. S. #187

When my brother and I were younger we played games in our room, usually an assortment of made-up things to pass the time, but the feats to see who was stronger or faster, were serious business!. When the weather shed it’s snow and cold, we could be found outside, on the playground. He in the sandbox, playing with matches and fluid to light the barbeque (yes, he was a pyro) and I on the swingset or hot metal slide. There were also those “family” ocassions, when Pachisi or the checkerboard for a game of checkers was brought out of the coat closet for the four of us to battle one on one with the roll of the dice.
.
I can remember my father telling stories of his youth, which was so very different than ours. He grew up in New York City, Washington Heights to be exact. I thought it was a cool place, but then again, as I child I always fancied the more odd or bohemian and thought those children were lucky to have so much within their reaches, but i quickly learned that the city is no place for childhood, according to my dad.
.
The one place that I found most interesting was the roof of his apartment building. That is where my father practiced playing the drums. It is actually a great place to play them, for the city’s hum, drummed out, no pun intended, the racket he was surely making.
.
One of the most unusual uses for the city rooftop, can be found in the buildings that house the schools. Dad didn’t grow up with expanses of land between buildings, so where else were they to put the gymnasium? That’s right, he had gym class on the top floor, which was the roof. A few years after telling us this fact, we saw firsthand what he meant. On a trip to see my parents good friends who lived in Brooklyn, we drove up and down the streets of his old neighborhood. Dad was always pointing up, to show the gargoyles that donned the facade, but we slowed down to a stop, when he pointed up, it was a school, his old stomping ground. Where he dribbled basketballs, learned a proper push up, and played the all-time kids favorite – Dodge Ball.
.
My brother seemed bothered by this and asked why there was a fence on the roof, and Dad said that they’d lose too many balls if it weren’t there. Of course they would, not to mention that someone may fall off themselves!.

-dld January 24, 2011-

*P. S. #187, Public School #187
_______________________________
ThinkingTen – On Location, Mondays: On the roof

4 responses to “P. S. #187

  1. Recently on a visit to Panama…one of the resorts had the gym on the roof of the very high structure…I’m not sure my workout was limited by my physical strength or the lack of oxygen…cannot imagine have PE on the top of building.:-)

  2. I don’t know what they did with bad weather, but having class up there would have had me looking out at the scenery more than pay attention to the teacher, for sure!

  3. Well hello there, I have so much here to catch up on .. I really enjoyed this story D. It’s interesting to be able to look back and reflect on days past. And for an outsider like myself, a nice glimpse into your life as a young D hehe :=)

    Kind of like a photo album but described with words instead… Thankfully I still have my sense of wonder and imagination and could picture those tall buildings and hear the kids laughing as the basketballs/dodge balls went flying up, hitting those surroundings gates!

    I look forward to reading more of what you’ve posted here! :=)

  4. Hon, I know you’ll have more to say as you read things in here and I’m so happy to have you as one of my “cub reporter’s”… kind of like Jimmy Olsen to Clark Kent/Superman!

    And I agree that writing is like having a photo-album, of sorts… yep, this is my life! :-))

Leave a Reply

