That’s My Big Brother


.

It is all my mother’s fault, and it’s high time I finally told the true story.
.
Back in ’67, my brother and I awoke to find that we had a “Vacation Day”, or so Mom said. We got dressed as quickly as we could, but my dear brother Danny-Boy had to gather his prized possessions to bring with him. After a few minutes of him scrounging for all the blue building blocks he could stuff in his pillowcase, Mom yelled to us, “Hurry Up!”, then she stood with the door opened wide and told us not to come back until it was dark. Danny jumped out of his slippers when she slammed the door shut.
.
Not knowing what to do or where to go, we just stood at the end of the block like a couple of stranded hobo’s waiting for the 5:15, when it started to rain. Not the typical springtime rain of the week before, this was a solid downpour and I rushed to the garbage can at the corner to grab the umbrella I saw sticking out. Although it was broken, it was better than gettimg drenched.
.
I wish I could erase what came next. All of the sudden, a man who had been standing behind the large maple tree, hidden from us, jumped out in front of us. He was a big man, and I was surprised he could be hidden behind that tree’s trunk so well. By this time. Danny was behind me, as if I were as large as that tree and could shelter him from this Monster. Yes, I said Monster, for the man before us had whiskers as long as Father Time’s, with enough space between his corncob teeth to slide in three quarters stacked, in between them, sideways. Shaking, but determined to be the force to stop him, I lunged at him, while Danny cowered and tried to be invisible.
.
In a sheepish voice I started to speak, to tell him to leave us alone, but all that came out sounded as if I were a scared lamb, ready to be slaughtered. For some reason, the Monster backed off and ran down the street where we lost sight of him.
.
Now it was just Danny and me again, standing in the relentless rain, shivering cold and scared. “Momma said we couldn’t go home until it was dark”, Danny cried, and I knew he was right, so I thought of a way we could fake her out. We started back home.

When I knocked at the door to be let in, I was going to say that IT IS dark… the sun isn’t shining it’s brilliant glare in our eyes, but no one answered the door. Out of nowhere, the Monster appeared again, and again my speech was frozen, but this time I had a weapon… that stick of an umbrella. I poked him inbetween his eyes, then jabbed an upper cut right into his chest with all my might. The Monster acted drunk and wobbled down the steps, back to the street, where he fell, face first, into a road puddle as big and wide as Lake Supierior!
.
I knew we’d be in trouble now, so I grabbed Danny’s hand and ran to find a safe place to hide out. The next thing that I remembered was hunkering down. When my eyes opened, I was in a police station. Mom was sitting in her chair crying and Danny was busy playing with his blue blocks on the floor.
.
I spoke, but it didn’t come out like a sentence. I just said, “dark yet, Momma, can we come home now?”

She answered, “Yes”, and we started back home after a policeman took Momma’s wheelchair and put it in the trunk.

We never talked about that day, and it wasn’t until I was older, in graduate school that I recalled it. I had been having nightmares regularly and decided to talk with someone from Health Services. One of the things Dr. Hooper tried was hypnotism on me. Apparently, when I was under his spell, I told him about that day. It felt good to get it off my chest and it must have worked, because I no longer have those sweat-ridden nightmares.
.
In fact, I’ve written a novel and it was just accepted by Stephen King’s publsher, with rights for a movie which is scheluled to begin filming next February.
.
You see, the Monster was really my Dad and I didn’t get charged for his murder, because in the eyes of the law, I was a minor, defending my Mom, after countless years of beatings. To me, this book and subsequent movie are for Danny-Boy. He should enjoy watching it, because a very handsome Movie Star is playing his character. I’m told they’ve already set a debut date for the film at the Shady Maple Sanitorium and Danny actually spoke his first words in years… “That’s my Big Brother!”, then he returned back into his world of being invisible and playing with Blue Blocks.
.
.

-dld Nov. 6th, 2010

_________________
for ThinkingTen
Week’s prompts: stranded, It is all my mother’s fault, high, erase,
publish, hidden, A wheelchair, A pillow case, and the image posted

4 responses to “That’s My Big Brother

  1. Wow…now this story had me hanging on each word.

  2. Sandra Grifo Montimurro

    That was amazing Denise! like bitter dark chocolate it has a bite that is addicting and I want more more more of these sardonic parodies on how the streets of tragedy and trauma turn into a celebrity-hood. I’m still sorting out my thoughts and emotions to this very layered short piece. Something about it says this kind of stuff should be your bread and butter. yummmmm… I love the flavor of it!!!

  3. That’s it… I give up with this crazy mouse/computer! I just wrote a really nice Thank You to you both, but Sandra & Charles, I’ll be damned if I can remember how well I put what I said, to say it again! So… I’m glad you enjoyed the layers of things unspoken, Sandra and this actually had you hanging on every word, Charles! Thanks… I feel good about this one!!! ~D

  4. Sandra Grifo Montimurro

    Denise I didn’t read Charles response until now but I absolutely agree! WOW!!!! Feeeeeeel goooooood!!! Let it flow cause you are onto something fantastic!!!!

Leave a Reply

