Count Down

first

i wrote

mixed metaphors with

many, many, too many

commas and ands to link

which made for a sinking poem

with nothing said for you to recall

to make sense of it all, I FAILED

to bring my focus to my words

declaring something special, or lfe altering

so now, I am hiding

down in a hole

inside my mind

where words

sleep

– – –

~dld october 18th, 2010

T10 – ‘down in a hole’

5 responses to “Count Down

  1. Oh…there have been many a day that I’ve hung out at a similar location for the same reason….so enjoyed reading that I’ve not been alone. 😉

  2. That’s the thing about being a writer, or any other kind of artist, Charles..
    We are all trying to trump the slump!
    Alone in our togetherness, which does give a sense of it being alright! ;-))

  3. cool! “down in a hole/ inside my mind/ where words sleep”….. liked it. we all commit the sin of metaphors…. it’s better go hibernating during the season.

  4. cool! “down in a hole/ inside my mind/ where words sleep”….. liked it. we all commit the sin of metaphors at times…. it’s better go hibernating during the season.

    • I think they are metaphors because they say exactly what we feel/think/do… in a way, we’re stereotyping our words!!! If I’m a user, then by all means… call me a Sinner! (I love this!) ;-))

Leave a Reply

