Wishing to Attain REM

as I lay down at night
restlessness curbs my SELF
to rise, as if on a deathbed shelf
looking down on a ME that is alright

it suits me, this ritual
to follow all the steps to reach my Utopian Ideal
calm transforms to serene, refracting all that is real
my conditioned behavior makes this hunt & peck, habitual

once i stop attending to my breath-sound
i slip into a vacuous terrain
submitting to sleep’s calling, to remain
without a memory this early sleep state leaves me without recourse, without rebound

awakened three, maybe four, times
i try to get back to the story unfolding
but we all know that REM sleep keeps those secrets untold to me
such luxuries, escape my grasp
.

………………………………………………………………………………………………..copyright dld 12.o5.o8

Leave a Reply

