I Learned I Don’t Like Wine

The lodge held a special acquaintance to me,

for it held all my secrets of what life can be.

.

I’d go there when things began to turn all around, ,

and the fright that I felt made my skin shudder at merely a sound.

.

The lodge held comfort to those who stopped by,

it was fruitful by teaching to those seeking their ‘pie in the sky’.

.

One evening while lounging all nestled by the fire,

I got up to look at a book and an old bottle of wine.

.

Both seemed to call out, and caution of desire,

whether to give in or go home, my mind was on fire!

.

In a moment of clarity, I chose to behold,

the gifts they bestowed me, those I could hold.

My wishes to find a good reason to live,

for purpose and sanity, I chose to forgive.

.

Everything else was second to that,

my life’s been as slave to others’ tit for tat.

.

My time had come, a request in that old wine bottle,

to ask James to get busy, to find his Bartel.

.

Then I’ll look for solace in pain…

I repeat my thoughts twice and sing this refrain:

‘Tis better to lodge at a place that’s within,

and force your deep soul to a bottle of gin.

dld June 17, 2010.

.____________________________________________

for 6S – The Plot Thickens, Thursday:
An old bottle of wine

Leave a Reply

