Blue Hawai’i

Lost in the ocean

Lost in the ocean

Lost in “blue songs

like tattoos”

Battered, constant waves of loca

-emotion

pound my flesh, rock my soul and shatter my devotions

.

.

“You’ve got to keep thinking, You can make it thru these waves”

Somehow

Time, dreams and grass *

Grated through my skin and reached

far deep within

To gouge myself from the equation

.

.

LOST in the middle of the sea

I saw within, dripping red “ink from*” *my pen

and surfacing from “underneath the skin
An empty space to fill in”
I will make it somehow

I will break the vow from this blue Hawai’i

still tattooed within

.____________________-dld june 11th, 2010

*(sic?).a pin

inspired by Joni Mitchell, “Blue”, © 1970

this, is not the song/lyrics re-written,

it played in my head as i wrote.

written for T10

Leave a Reply

